The Battery Piazzas, Porches, and Gardens • Saturday, October 24 • 2 PM
TICKET PRICES CURRENTLY AVAILABLE
WITH MEMBERSHIP: $125.00
TICKET SALE DATES
NON-MEMBER / MEMBER / WITH MEMBERSHIP Public Onsale: August 1, 2020 9:00 AM to October 24, 2020 6:00 PM
Guests will visit 3-4 private Piazzas, Porches and/or Gardens. No interiors are included this year. A seawall protects East Battery, or High Battery, which overlooks Charleston's harbor. The forerunner of today's sea wall was first constructed in 1755 but was destroyed by a hurricane. Subsequently, constant battering from waves required the wall to be rebuilt a number of times. The fortifications were again upgraded for the city's defense against the British during the American Revolution. Because of the marshy nature of the land, however, it was not possible to build continuously along East Battery until after 1820 when most of the mansions along the thoroughfare were constructed. When Confederate troops fired on Fort Sumter on April 12, 1861, Charlestonians gathered on the High Battery and along piazzas and rooftops to witness the first shots of the Civil War. East Battery has been a popular promenade since the 19th century.
At the transition of East Battery to East Bay Street is the renowned Rainbow Row, a collection of 18th century buildings constructed by merchants for residences and places of business. By the early 20th century, the neglected, dilapidated buildings became a focus of early preservation endeavors. Susan Pringle Frost, founding member of the Preservation Society of Charleston, along with Dorothy Porcher Legge and her husband Judge Lionel Legge, led the way in rehabilitating these icons as dwellings. "Rainbow Row" derives its name from the tradition Mrs. Legge initiated when she painted her house a vibrant pastel.