Skip to Content
Image for A Sea Symphony by Ralph Vaughan Williams
Auburn Symphony Orchestra

A Sea Symphony by Ralph Vaughan Williams

  May 5, 2024 2:30 PM

Doors Open: 1:30 PM

View Seating Chart

ADULT: $42.00
STUDENT: $12.00
SENIOR: $37.00

ADULT / STUDENT / SENIOR Public Onsale: July 5, 2023 10:00 AM to May 5, 2024 2:30 PM
“Behold, the Sea!” With these words, Ralph Vaughan Williams’ massive Sea Symphony begins. This piece, nearly an hour in length, was Vaughan Williams’ first major work and it was inspired by the poetry of Walt Whitman. Using over 107 lines of text from the poet’s Leaves of Grass, Vaughan Williams’ choral-orchestral work explores the sea itself as well as the sea of time, humankind and our infinite world. Auburn Symphony Orchestra is delighted to present this work in collaboration with Seattle Pro Musica and their conductor, Karen P. Thomas.
with Seattle Pro MusicaSusan Payne O’Brien, sopranoDamien Geter, baritone 

JAAKKO MÄNTYJÄRVI – Canticum Calamitatis MaritimaeETHYL SMYTH – The Boatswain’s Mate Overture

RALPH VAUGHAN WILLIAMS – Symphony No. 1 (A Sea Symphony) 

Additional works to be announced.

Number of Tickets
Limit 10 tickets per order.

* Does not include convenience or handling fees.